Location: Old Colony Railroad Station
About the Location
- Location: Railroad Station - 80 Mechanic Street
- Date Constructed: 1881-1883
- Original Purpose: Old Colony Railroad Station
- Architects: H. H. Richardson, Frederick law Olmsted
- Notable people involved in construction: Frederick Lothrop Ames (commissioned the station)
This train station was commissioned in 1881 by Frederick Lothrop Ames, along with the iconic Ames Gate Lodge both at the same time, from the legendary architect H. H. Richardson. The surrounding landscaping was done by Frederick Law Olmsted. This landscape itself is a longstanding part of this location's history, with sycamore trees standing tall outside. The station itself opened in 1883 and ran until November 1959. In 1969 the building was bought by the Ames family and given to the Easton Historical Society.
What is it used for now?
The station, now under the ownership of the Easton Historical Society Museum, was turned into a museum, and thus a place to keep a record of Easton's history. A lot of work was done to restore the Station over the years, collecting photos and documents along the way. Nowadays, the museum is open to visitors, and hosts tours of the station, along with walking tours. The Easton Historical Society has their collection of historical resources available for research at the museum.
History is right around the corner!
Just nearby you can find Shovel shop Pond, and the Governor Oliver Ames Estate Community park.
Easton Historical Society and Museum
PO Box 3
80 Mechanic Street
North Easton, MA 02356